Liuto forte in d
(German baroque lute)

Repertory: all compositions for d minor lute from 1630 to about 1800, including three lute compositions by Johann Sebastian Bach in arrangements of the 18th century, music of the 19th to 21st century, continuo

13-stringed: A B flat C D E F G A d f a d‘ f‘

(9 fingerboard strings, 4 bourdon strings)

14-stringed: G A B flat C D E F G A d f a d‘ f‘

(9 fingerboard strings, 5 bourdon strings)

  • String-length fingerboard strings 66 cm, String-length bourdon strings 88 cm
  • a’ = 440 Hz
  • Single stringing
  • Strongly curved fingerboard
  • 19 fixed frets
  • One rose, narrow body, 11 ribs
  • Traditional or geared pegs
Guitarists who would like to play Weiss, Bach, Reussner, Mouton or Gaultier in the original tuning can now take the plunge – since their plucking style no longer needs any radical change – with the D minor Liuto forte. Having once taken the trouble to learn the reading of tablature, they will be able to play baroque lute pieces (from tablature) and Spanish guitar pieces concurrently on guitar or E liuto forte (from staff notation), without fearing risky conflicts between memory and motor centres.
The comparatively big step, from the guitar or tenor lute tuning to the Liuto forte tuning in D minor with its basses, can be eased by at first using the transitional tuning of the Archiliuto in e.

We offer Liuti forti in d with double head pegbox or bass rider only on special request, because the swan neck lute with two straight pegboxes brings clear acoustic advantages over these two constructions. The advantages of a swan neck lie mainly in stronger middle registers, a longer sustain of the treble strings and more impressive basses.

Samples

Please note that when recording with Liuti forti, there is no difference between the sound of the instrument in the recording and the sound of the instrument in the original. If you wish, compare the sound of the respective pieces with recordings of the same piece on copies of historical lutes that can be found on the Internet.

S.L. Weiss
„Fantasia from Sonata No. 11 D Minor“
Oded Melchner, Guitarist, Israel
Liuto forte in d, Rosewood

S.L. Weiss
„Allemande from Sonata No. 11 D Minor“
Oded Melchner, Guitarist, Israel
Liuto forte in d, Palisander

Liuto forte in d
(deutsche Barocklaute)

Repertoire: sämtliche Kompositionen für d-moll-Laute von 1630 – ca.1800, einschließlich dreier Lautenkompositionen Johann Sebastian Bachs in Bearbeitungen des 18. Jahrhunderts, Musik des 19.-21. Jahrhunderts, Continuo

13-saitig: A B C D E F G A d f a d‘ f‘

(9 Griffbrettsaiten, 4 Bordunsaiten)

14-saitig: G A B C D E F G A d f a d‘ f‘

(9 Griffbrettsaiten, 5 Bordunsaiten)

  • Mensur Griffbrettsaiten 66 cm, Mensur Bordunsaiten 88 cm
  • a’ = 440 Hz
  • Einzelbesaitung
  • starke Griffbrettwölbung
  • 19 Festbünde
  • Eine Rosette, schlanker Korpus, 11-spänig
  • klassische oder mechanische Wirbel

Gitarristen, die Weiß, Bach, Reussner, Mouton oder Gaultier in der originalen Stimmung spielen möchten, können sich – da ihre Anschlagsgewohnheiten keiner dramatischen Umstellungen mehr bedürfen – jetzt ebensogut an den in d-moll gestimmten Liuto forte wagen. Sofern sie sich der geringen Mühe unterziehen, das Spielen nach der Tabulatur zu erlernen, werden sie künftig in der Lage sein, Barocklaute (nach Tabulatur) und spanische Gitarre (nach Noten) bzw. „Laute in e” (nach Noten und Tabulatur) nebeneinanderher zu spielen, ohne Konflikte zwischen Langzeitgedächtnis und motorischen Zentren befürchten zu müssen.

Der Übergang von einem Liuto forte in Gitarren- bzw. Tenorlautenstimmung zu einem Liuto forte in d kann durch die anfängliche Benutzung der Stimmung des vierzehnsaitigen Arciliuto in e (siehe dort) wesentlich erleichtert werden.

Liuti forti in d mit double head-Wirbelkasten werden von uns nur auf besonderen Wunsch gebaut, da die Halskonstruktion der Schwanenhalslaute mit zwei geraden Wirbelkästen über deutliche akustische Vorteile gegenüber dieser Konstruktion verfügt. Die Vorteile eines Schwanenhalses liegen hauptsächlich in kräftigeren Mittellagen, einem längeren Sustain der Diskantsaiten sowie eindrucksvolleren Bässen.

Klangbeispiele

Bitte beachten Sie, dass bei den nachfolgenden Aufnahmen mit Liuti forti kein Unterschied zwischen dem Klang des Instrumentes in der Aufnahme und dem Klang des Instrumentes im Original besteht. Vergleichen Sie bei Bedarf den Klang der jeweiligen Stücke mit Aufnahmen desselben Stückes auf Kopien historischer Lauten, die im Internet zu finden sind.

S.L. Weiss
„Fantasia from Sonata No.11 in D Minor“ 
Oded Melchner, Israel

S.L. Weiss
„Allemande from Sonata No.11 in D Minor“ 
Oded Melchner, Israel