Craft and Science

Fertile collaboration with the Technical University Dresden has been of indispensable assistance over many years in the constant improvement in the sound quality of the Liuto forte.

Fertile collaboration with the Technical University Dresden has been of indispensable assistance over many years in the constant improvement in the sound quality of the Liuto forte. Students at the Technical University Dresden, Institute of Solid Mechanics under the direction of Prof. Rolf Schmidt analyse our instruments in the context of their verification work. Careful note is taken of the process of resonant vibration at the bridge, an essential factor for plucked stringed instruments, along with the influence of the barring on the frequency proportions of the soundboard.

The results of these investigations supply a valuable increase in knowledge concerning the fundamental functioning of lute instruments. They also contribute a better understanding of historical lute construction, as well as solving acoustic problems that can occur during the manufacture of the lute. The measurements made by the most modern apparatus in the laboratory can exponentially supplement the intuition and experience of our lute makers.

The following insightful visualisation of the vibration of the Liuto forte at various frequencies gives you a little insight into the results of this research.

In the sound of each Liuto forte nothing is left to chance. Customers can be totally confident that the instrument they commission will deviate in no sense from the quality of the demonstration instrument.

An analysis undertaken in 1999 by the Zwota Institute for Musical Instrument Building (www.ifm-zwota.de) was able to show almost identical resonances (resonance peaks) in three individual liuti forti of the same model.

Below you can view the frequency response of one of these lutes (Liuto forte in d minor, Guenter Mark 1998) at various frequencies, and then compare it with the frequency response pattern of an historical lute in former possession of André Burguete (Sebastian Schelle, Nuremberg 1744).

Modal analysis Liuto forte

15 string Liuto forte in d (double head), Günter Mark 1998

Modal analysis historical lute

13 course Baroque lute, Sebastian Schelle, 1744, Germanisches Nationalmuseum Nürnberg

Liuto forte 107Hz  
 
Liuto forte 258Hz

historical lute 269Hz

Liuto forte 368Hz historical lute 318Hz
Liuto forte 421Hz historical lute 433Hz
Liuto forte 610Hz historical lute 673Hz
Liuto forte 710Hz historical lute 796Hz

Forschung

Handwerk und Wissenschaft

Eine wesentliche Unterstützung bei der ständigen Optimierung der Klangqualität von Liuto forti ist die langjährige, fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit mit der Technischen Universität Dresden. Unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Dr. habil. Rolf Schmidt analysieren Studenten des dortigen Instituts für Festkörpermechanik im Rahmen von Belegarbeiten das Schwingungsverhalten unserer Instrumente. Dabei findet insbesondere der bei Zupfinstrumenten sehr wesentliche Einschwingvorgang am Steg Beachtung, ebenso wie der Einfluß der Beleistung auf das Schwingungsverhalten der Decke.

Die Ergebnisse dieser Untersuchungen liefern nicht nur wertvolle Aufschlüsse über die grundsätzliche Wirkungsweise von Lauteninstrumenten. Sie tragen auch zum besseren Verständnis des historischen Lautenbaus sowie zur Lösung akustischer Probleme bei, die während der Herstellung von Lauteninstrumenten auftreten können. Die an modernsten Geräten im Labor durchgeführten Messungen ergänzen sich dabei zunehmend mit der Intuition und Erfahrung unserer Lautenbauer.

Einen kleinen Einblick in die Ergebnisse dieser Forschungen gibt Ihnen die nachfolgende aufschlußreiche Sichtbarmachung von Eigenschwingungen eines Liuto forte innerhalb verschiedener Frequenzbereiche.

Hinsichtlich der Klangqualität wird bei Liuto forte nichts dem Zufall überlassen. Kunden können sich darauf verlassen, dass das von ihnen in Auftrag gegebene Instrument in keiner Weise von der Qualität des zum Probespiel benutzten Demonstrationsistrumentes abweicht.

1998 wurden drei baugleiche Liuti forti im Institut für Musikinstrumentenbau Zwota (www.ifm-zwota.de) einer Modalanalyse unterzogen. Die Instrumente zeigen nahezu deckungsgleiche Resonanzspitzen.

Im Folgenden sind die Deckenschwingungen eines dieser Instrumente bei unterschiedlichen Frequenzen abgebildet. Im Vergleich dazu sind die Deckenschwingungen einer historischen Laute von Sebastian Schelle, Nürnberg 1744 (vorher im Besitz von André Burguete), zu sehen.

Modalanalyse Liuto forte

15 saitiger Liuto forte in d (double head)
von Günter Mark, Elsa 1998

Modalanalyse historische Laute

13 chörige Barocklaute, Sebastian Schelle, 1744
Germanisches Nationalmuseum Nürnberg

Liuto forte 107Hz  
 
Liuto forte 258Hz Historische Laute 269Hz
Liuto forte 368Hz Historische Laute 318Hz
Liuto forte 421Hz Historische Laute 433Hz
Liuto forte 610Hz Historische Laute 673Hz
Liuto forte 710Hz Historische Laute 796Hz